Prompt for January 9: Four Lines of Prose about the Alchemist

Standard

[Prompt from http://daily-writing.blogspot.com/ . Characters and story from a novel idea entitled Alkimic Maiden]

I tried to tell myself over and over the same words my father taught me to keep the tears at bay; that I was in control of my emotions and could silence them at will. But when I saw all his blood and bruised flesh, all because the guards had attempted to take me back to Dominique Evrard, the only words that passed through my mind were what if he had died?

So I let the gold tears roll down my face, uncaring if Syn saw them.

“It’s you,” I heard him whisper, “By god, you are the Alkimic Maiden!”

Leave a Reply

