Prompt for January 5: The Reversal

Standard

[Prompt from http://daily-writing.blogspot.com/ .]

The world is always on my back,

Growing heavy with each step.

I can hear her harsh words

Whispered in my ear every minute.

 

“You are unworthy of your dreams.

The time for fantasizing is past,

Succumb to normalcy and

The mundane. This is your life now.”

 

But a new year has come at last,

A year of fresh starts and bright

Futures. I choose to ignore

The world’s harsh words, instead

Looking once more to my dreams.

 

I will once again turn to my

Fantasies and will see them

Realized, at last. This year

Is my year to become me again.

Leave a Reply

