Fruits and Darkness

Standard

If apples are the forbidden fruit,
Then what are you, my dear?
For you taste just as sweet
But are most assuredly both
Sustenance and toxin.

If ambrosia gives life everlasting,
Then what do you bring, my dear?
For your kisses are exhilarating,
Your touch sets fire to my skin,
Yet there must be a catch hidden
Behind your smiling chestnut eyes.

Why must all good come
With a darker side? Is there
A true purity in this world
For a mere mortal like me?

What is your purpose in
This short life I live, dear one?
When will you show me
That darker side I know to be
Hiding just beneath your smiles?

Leave a Reply

