Prompt for June 16: The Last Chance

Standard

[Prompt from http://daily-writing.blogspot.com/ .]

I’m on the edge of the world, no time to think,
No time to wish for a fuck or another cold drink.
All I can think of is you and what you did to me,
Kissing her in public, just to make me flee.
I gave you a chance, the last one I had
To take me home, to make me glad.
That letter I sent was supposed to bring you here,
Supposed to bring you to conquer my fear
That you had indeed left me for good with no
Thought toward the status of being friend or foe.

I’m on the edge of the world, no time to think,
Just to stand there in silence, staring at the brink
Of eternity. There’s nothing left for me to do
But to take a deep breath and follow through.

Leave a Reply

