Camp NaNoWriMo 2015!

Standard

Hello lovely followers!

For the more recent followers, let me start this post by thanking all of you for following my blog. I know I’ve had a few consistency issues throughout the past couple of months, mainly having streaks of posts followed by weeks of radio silence. I’m sorry. I know I always say that school has hit a rough patch and I’ll overcome it; this is again the case. The semester is coming to an end in a month and hopefully my last semester will give me some extra time to write. After I graduate in August, I can guarantee more posts.

I wanted to tell you all of my participation in Camp NaNoWriMo this upcoming April. I know many of you are rolling your eyes, thinking “Oh sure. Like you really succeeded with NaNo in November.” And I agree, last November was a failure considering I didn’t even manage to reach the half-way mark in my novel, Alchemic Maiden. But the best thing about Camp is that I can choose my own project and my own word count.

I have decided to work on short stories for Camp. Hopefully this will help me in practicing my longer story developments without all the time constraints and obligations writing a full-fledged novel would bring. I am going to attempt to write one short story a week, with a minimum of 3,000 words per story, rounding out my April word count goal of 12,000 words. I said “attempt” because I will also have my final exams in April and do not wish to delude myself into thinking I can keep up whatever writing streak I may develop now during the last two weeks of April.

If I like a piece of writing, I will most definitely share it here. However, I may or may not post the story in its entirety. I am trying to get some of my work published and, to do that, I may need an original work that hasn’t been published on any website yet. However, if this stipulation isn’t the case with the magazines/anthologies that I am interested in, then by golly I’ll post the story here for all of you lovely people to enjoy!

I wish you all happiness as April hopefully brings warmer weather.

~Ivy

Leave a Reply

