Prompt for January 12: The Shortage

Standard

[Prompt from http://daily-writing.blogspot.com/ .]

I fumbled around in my purse, searching for the extra coin I knew in the pit of my stomach wasn’t there. I kept searching with my outstretched fingers, praying I’d find at least one more. In vain, I slowly looked upward and into the ice eyes of the prince of the clan.

I knew no one could walk away from a deal if they hadn’t lived up to their end of the bargain, especially when that deal was struck under the full moon with a member of the Tragaboed clan. And a deal with the prince of that clan? I was as good a dead if I couldn’t come up with another form of payment fast.

I saw the ice eyes slide down and up my wolf-raged cloak and dress. I didn’t have to follow his gaze to know that a great deal of my bronzed flesh was showing through the once modest clothes. It was hard to swallow around the lump that was quickly forming in my throat. If there was any hope of seeing my family again, I needed this deal between Tragaboed and I to work out.

I took a deep breath and tried to mentally prepare myself. I had found another method of payment but I wished it was only money he was after.

Leave a Reply

