Prompt for October 13: The Horse

Standard

[Prompt from http://daily-writing.blogspot.com/ . Characters from a novel series idea: Hand of Fate. Sorry for the lack of updates this weekend: my alma mater had its homecoming. I’ll try and post more today to make up for my absence.]

Crispin ran his palm up down Aurelia’s nose. The golden mare looked so soft, her large brown eyes so gentle.

“I remember she was the most beautiful thing I saw,” he said in a soft tone. “Yes you were, girl.”

The way Crispin petted her nose was something straight out of a movie. I had friends with horses back in California, but none of them ever showed their pets this much reverence.

“How old were you?” I asked.

He looked at me as if he’d forgotten I was standing right next to him. “I was seven. My father saw how much I adored the royal and noble horses he cared for. It took my parents some time to save up the money to buy her. The fact that they found a young foal was the only reason I got to have her.”

Leave a Reply

