Prompt for September 26: The Premium

Standard

[Prompt from http://daily-writing.blogspot.com/ . From a novel idea: Alchemic Maiden. I apologize for the delayed post.]

I had never before seen meat that wasn’t cooked and garnished on a china plate before me. There was blood everywhere. Blood and flies. I could see the bones, the feet, the heads. The poor lamb’s eyes stared unblinking right at me from their forgotten place next to the butcher’s red-soaked worn leather boots.

“Best premium lamb around!” the teller shouted. “No finer. Not even on the king’s table!”

That I would have to argue against.

Leave a Reply

