Prompt for July 8: Wrong Number

Standard

[prompt from http://daily-writing.blogspot.com/%5D
I gripped his hand, clinging onto it as though I was again out in the storm and his hand was the buoy that saved me from the rest of my people’s fate.

“Four seven one nine five.”

My stomach dropped and I felt a wave of nausea crash over me.

“No!” Geshna whispered beside me. His hand tightened around mine. There was nothing he could do and he knew it

“Will Four seven one nine five please step forward. You have been chosen by the Unseen.” The Caller’s tone had been short and sharp.

Before I could lose my courage all together, I brought Geshna’s hand to my lips and kissed it. “I’ll see you on the other side,” I whispered. Then I stepped out of line.

“You will get through this, Havarti!” Geshna called after me. “You survived the Reaping, you can survive this.”

His words only fueled my fears. He hadn’t been at the Reaping. He didn’t see what those beasts did to my people before they scattered what remained of us into the Dark Sea. I barely made it out of there. I wasn’t so sure luck would be with me this time.

The caller led me into the arena. I saw the different instruments on the table and I tried to make sense of them. How was I supposed to choose how to end a life? Should I go with the most humane? Or the one that would cause the quickest death?

“You have five minutes to choose, Four seven one nine five.”

Five minutes? Was that all a life meant to these people? I felt another wave of nausea sweep over me.

Leave a Reply

