Survival

Standard

trigger warning: rape

The man had come from darkness

With red eyes and flashing teeth,

Truly a demon from below for

Only hell could raise such a villain.

I fought back.

I survived.

 

Sweat dripped into my mouth where

Screams were silenced by the claw

Before they could ever hope of reaching

A stranger passing by.

I fought back.

I survived.

 

Fabric slashed, rags thrown to the ground,

I laid on the ground, Giles Corey under stone.

I felt it move, felt it approach, felt it rear

It’s ugly head towards my being.

I fought back.

I survived.

 

Terror gripped me harder than the beast

Ever could. I couldn’t fade to darkness.

I couldn’t let the demon take me so easily,

As if I was nothing at all. I couldn’t.

I fought back.

I survived.

 

Hitting, kicking, spitting, biting;

Things I learned and hoped to never forget.

My feeble arms became sword and shield,

With slaying the demon, my only thought.

I fought back.

I survived.

 

Out of cage, out of bonds, I flew.

I told everyone far and wide of

The demon who had escaped from hell

And should be returned to his cage.

I fought back.

I survived.

 

The looks I get, I cannot say

Why they stare through me, blaming me

For instincts passed down since the first day.

But I won’t let tears pay tribute to him.

I fought back.

I survived.

Leave a Reply

